DEAR BUSUU, LIVEMOCHA, ROSETTA STONE, DUOLINGO, AND PIMSLEUR: THERE IS NO FREE LUNCH

Learning German is daunting, says Smith, who almost gave up. He concludes that there’s No Free Lunch despite the advent of loads of free language learning Apps – the best teacher will probably be yourself,especially if you know how best you learn. There are some great thoughts here on teaching and learning styles/ and learner autonomy too.

Boreal B[l]og

Quite by accident, I started to learn German while with many Germans on an eclipse trip in 2010 to Patagonia, Argentina.  They were nice, and two women became–and still are–good friends. I promised them if they came over for the 2012 annular eclipse in Arizona, I’d learn a little German.  They didn’t come, but I started learning German–at 61. 

I started with Rosetta Stone (RS).  I saw the ads, I talked to a person in Sea-Tac, where I tried a few words, and I thought this would help.  I was so motivated, that after I finished Part 1, I decided to repeat it.  In 3 months, I went through all 5 parts.  That is motivation. RS has good voice recognition software, and that is its strong point.  One will be able to say words reasonably well enough they might be understandable.  For a short trip to Hungary, RS would be…

View original post 1,972 more words

Leave a Reply

